Categories
EDTC300 Learning Project

Shadows

This week for my Learning Project with Watercolour art, I decided to tackle shadowing. Keep reading to see how disastrous this week turned out…

To begin, I found this lovely tutorial online from the following website:

Watercolor Affair
Click the image to go to the Website!

This website has plenty small tutorials for beginners, the tutorial I tackled is called “Watercolor Pebbles Painting”.

simple watercolor pebbles painting
Image from: https://watercoloraffair.com/easy-watercolor-paintings-for-beginners/?epik=dj0yJnU9MDNBYm9NbHZTY0k2SUxlOGJzSUl0OVQzbmRSN3hKTDgmcD0wJm49aU43TGozVHRGb05DWFZucXE2TVRrdyZ0PUFBQUFBR0FUWVc0

The above image displays the step by step tutorial. I saw this and thought “This looks do-able”… but, I was definitely in over my head. I made my first attempt and… it looked horrible.

My first attempt is clearly a first attempt. I stopped, looked at the image and thought to myself, “Where did I go wrong?”. I decided to try once more and I have to say, my second attempt is significantly better than my first attempt.

With this attempt, I tried to work quickly so that my water did not dry allowing colours to blend better. I think this attempt looks much better and this tutorial allowed me to make multiple attempts and focus on a new aspect of art: Shadowing.

I know it is not perfect… but it’s progress!

4 replies on “Shadows”

Watercolor is such a hard medium to work with. it takes a lot of patience to build up those layers and get them shadows going. Your doing great with controlling the paint! that picture comparison looks sick!

Like

Hey Sarah,
I love watercolour painting. It was one of those things we used to do in my art club at my high school. I am really excited to follow along with your progress. I am actually really impressed with the pebble stack you did. I feel like I would come no where near!

Like

Great post Sarah! I can really see your progress over the three attempts, your watercolour skills are really coming along. Keep up the good work, it’s really impressive! I’m looking forward to your next post 🙂

Like

Leave a comment